# Live mode, draft mode, and pausing

A campaign is either in draft mode, where you can edit it, or in live mode, where it runs and can't be edited. You can also pause a campaign and resume it later.

## Working with live and draft modes

### Starting a campaign from scratch

When you create a campaign, it automatically starts in draft mode, displaying a **Draft** tag beneath the campaign name. The right side of the screen shows an **Edit Mode** label, indicating that you can make changes.

Once you publish the campaign:

- The **Draft** tag changes to **Live**
- The **Edit Mode** label changes to **View Mode**
- The campaign starts running, and you can no longer make edits

### Editing a live campaign

To make changes to a live campaign:

1. Click **Edit Draft Version**.

   The campaign switches from **View Mode** to **Edit Mode**.
2. Make your changes and save them.

### Switch between live and draft modes

Once a campaign is published, both live and draft versions are available. To switch between views, use the drop-down menu beneath the campaign name.

### Creating a draft of a live campaign

Once you've published a campaign, a draft version is not automatically available.

To revise a live campaign and replace the current version:

1. Click **Create Draft Version**. A draft version is created and opens in **Edit Mode**.

   > **Note**
   >
   > While you work on the new draft, the live version of the campaign will continue running on the set schedule without any interruptions.

#### Managing a draft campaign

While in Edit Mode for the draft campaign, you can:

- **Edit and save changes**: Modify the campaign and click **Save**. This option is ideal when you want to update the campaign with new content or adjustments.
- **Discard changes**: Click **Discard Changes** to revert to the last saved state.
- **Delete draft version**: Click **Delete Draft Version** to remove the draft and keep only the live version

> [!NOTE]
>
> The option to delete a saved draft using the **Delete Draft Version** function will only be available when using software version Q3 2023 and above.

## Pausing a campaign

Once published, a campaign follows the schedule set during creation.

In this example, the campaign is published on a weekly schedule and is due to run.

To pause the campaign:

1. Click the **option** button in the top-right corner of the screen.
2. Click **Pause**.
3. When prompted, click **Pause** to confirm.

The campaign is now tagged as paused. The Resume button replaces the Pause button for when you need to restart it.

## Resuming a campaign

If no updates to the campaign journey or schedule are needed, you can resume it as required.

To resume a campaign:

1. Click the **option** button in the top-right corner of the screen.
2. When prompted, click **Resume** to confirm.

The campaign is now live and tagged as successful.

> [!NOTE]
>
> If your campaign was moved to edit mode but no changes are needed, exit edit mode using the option button in the top-right corner. This returns you to the draft view. Use the draft/live dropdown to switch to the paused version.
>
> See [Live and draft campaign modes](<https://help.apteco.com/en/orbit/campaigns/using-campaigns/live-and-draft-campaign-modes/index.md>).
