# Sharing, unsharing, and group editing dashboards

You can share dashboards with users or groups of users. When sharing, you can set permissions for recipients to view or edit the shared dashboard.

## Sharing a dashboard with people or a group of people

When you create a dashboard, only the owner can make edits. To allow others to view or edit the dashboard, you need to share it with them.

You can share a dashboard without opening it, from its **options menu** on the [Dashboards screen](<https://help.apteco.com/en/orbit/dashboards/using-dashboards/index.md>). Alternatively, open the dashboard and expand the **options menu** in the top right of the screen to find the **Share** button.

In the first share screen you see the owner, and who the dashboard is currently shared with.

Start typing the user or group that you want to share with in the **Add** field to find your new recipients.

You can add multiple users and groups at this stage:

For each user or group, you can specify whether they have View Only or Edit permission.

A View Only permission indicates that the user cannot edit or share the dashboard, whereas an Edit permission can.

> [!NOTE]
>
> When more than one user edits a dashboard at the same time, the dashboard contains the latest save.

When completed, the new share is created and the new recipients receive a notification. You can send an additional message in the notification by choosing to Add Message.

## Removing a share

If you no longer wish to share a dashboard you can remove the share.

Click the **Share** button in the top right to see who the dashboard is currently shared with. Then click **Remove Access** in the list.

If you wish to notify existing users that the share has changed, select **Notify existing users**.

> [!NOTE]
>
> User permissions take precedence over Group permissions, and Group permissions take precedence over All Users permissions.
