Skip to content

Live and draft campaign modes

A campaign is either in draft mode, where you can edit it, or in live mode, where it runs and can't be edited. To stop a live campaign for a while without changing it, pause it.

Overview of live and draft modes

  • Draft mode: Displays campaigns still in development. A campaign in draft mode has not been published and remains in the creation phase.
  • Live mode: Displays campaigns that are actively running.

Accessing the campaigns tab

To interact with campaigns, go to the Campaigns tab. This section lists all your Orbit campaigns.

Campaigns tab listing campaigns with Live and Draft tags

  • Each campaign has a Live or Draft tag that indicates its current state
  • Live campaigns display a Live tag, and their summary dates show the last and next run dates
  • Draft campaigns display a Draft tag, indicating they are still in the creation phase and not yet published

Note

There are no last or next run dates for draft campaigns. Once published, the campaign state changes to live and the dates reflect when this happened and the future schedule.

Filtering live and draft campaigns

Live campaigns have various states, such as Needs Approval, Successful, or Error. You can filter campaigns based on these states on the Campaigns screen.

You can also filter by draft state to display only campaigns in draft mode.

Draft filter on the Campaigns screen

See Filter and search campaigns.

Working with live and draft modes

Starting a campaign from scratch

When you create a campaign, it automatically starts in draft mode, displaying a Draft tag beneath the campaign name. The right side of the screen shows an Edit Mode label, indicating that you can make changes.

New campaign with a Draft tag and the Edit Mode label

Once you publish the campaign:

  • The Draft tag changes to Live
  • The Edit Mode label changes to View Mode
  • The campaign starts running, and you can no longer make edits

Published campaign with a Live tag and the View Mode label

Editing a live campaign

To make changes to a live campaign:

  1. Click Edit Draft Version.

    The campaign switches from View Mode to Edit Mode.

  2. Make your changes and save them.

Switch between live and draft modes

Once a campaign is published, both live and draft versions are available. To switch between views, use the drop-down menu beneath the campaign name.

Drop-down menu beneath the campaign name for switching between the live and draft versions

Creating a draft of a live campaign

Once you've published a campaign, a draft version is not automatically available.

To revise a live campaign and replace the current version:

  1. Click Create Draft Version. A draft version is created and opens in Edit Mode.

    Create Draft Version button on a live campaign

    Note

    While you work on the new draft, the live version of the campaign will continue running on the set schedule without any interruptions.

Managing a draft campaign

While in Edit Mode for the draft campaign, you can:

  • Edit and save changes: Modify the campaign and click Save. This option is ideal when you want to update the campaign with new content or adjustments.
  • Discard changes: Click Discard Changes to revert to the last saved state.
  • Delete draft version: Click Delete Draft Version to remove the draft and keep only the live version

Note

The option to delete a saved draft using the Delete Draft Version function will only be available when using software version Q3 2023 and above.